This is the "Database vs. Internet" page of the "Databases vs. Internet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases vs. Internet   Tags: databases, evaluating_websites, library_catalog  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://wms.leanderisd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=158587 Print Guide RSS Updates

Database vs. Internet Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database

What is a Library Database?

 

  • Library databases contain information from published works.
    • Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles,encyclopedias and other reference books.
  • Library databases are searchable.
    • By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.
  • Library databases provide citation information..
    • Author, if available
    • Title of Article
    • Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book)
    • Publisher
    • Date of Publication
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles.
    • You can print or email an entire article.
  • There are different kinds of library databases
    • For specific topics. Examples: LitFinder, ABC CLIO 
    • For general topics Examples: ProQuest, World Book Online

Information provided by Hennepin County Library

 

Database vs. Internet

Library databases
Websites
Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field. Websites may be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Library databases contain published works where facts are checked. Website content is not necessarily checked by an expert.
Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you. Websites often don't provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects. Websites often aren't organized to support a student's research needs.
Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication. Websites may not indicate when a page is updated.

From Hennepin County Library

 

When do I????

Use the Library's Article Databases when you:

  • Need to find scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper
        articles and information not indexed or available on the web.
  • Want to save time on your research. A database provides provides one-stop
        access to credible information specific to your topic, instead of searching
        through thousands of web pages.
  • Are looking for biographical information
  • Are looking for statistical information
  • Are looking for encyclopedic overviews of topics
  •  

    Use a the Internet when you:

  • Are willing to evaluate the content of websites. To learn more about this
        process view Evaluating a Website..Is it CRAP?.
  • Want to visit a specific website
  • Want to access digital collections
  • Want to access government information
  • Want to access commercial sites
  • Want to see advertisements
  • Want instant access to today's news
  • Want to find information on organizations, groups, personal web pages
        related to a topic.
  • From MCC Libraries

    WMS Librarian

    Profile Image
    Michele Alexander
    Contact Info
    Wiley Middle School Library
    1526 Raider Way
    Leander, TX 78641
    512.570.3634
    michele.alexander@leanderisd.org
    Send Email
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip